Another Day, Another Drive

It’s been a strange kind of week, and my commute reflected it.

Jury Duty call on Tuesday afternoon, but we were sent home because of the weather forecast – judges have great latitude. I may have missed my calling. Work has been busy & frustrating, yet today was actually satisfying. I miss not having more opportunities to actually solve problems (well, okay, maybe not quite solve – but definitely point people in the right direction). The problem in with trying to be a manager when you have an analytic nature is that you no longer get to do what it is that got you involved in the field in the first place. And now that I’m no longer young, and no longer technologically proficient, I have to primarily rely on a decent skill set for work that I actually find uninteresting. So today’s burst of mental activity made me happier at work than I have been in a long time. But I still wish I could afford to retire early!

NaNoWriMo & November have ended, but my story still goes on. I hope to finish it sometime this month, but I’m a bit stalled at the moment. My protagonist is a relatively young, female, journalist, and I know where she needs to end up in my story, and I’ve already written her introduction, and back story, but I’m having some problems bridging the two to get her where she needs to be. The problem with writing without a real plan is that sometimes the story refuses to go where you need it to. Oh well, I’ll figure it out eventually.

And then there’s like the third idiot this evening that seems to find the left lane so comforting that even a steady progression of cars passing him on the right doesn’t deter him from staying the course – and periodically applying his brakes for no reason. And yes, I eventually passed him as well when I found myself directly behind him.  The lack of understanding of the purpose of the passing lane drives me nuts. Yes, I tend to drive fast, but I’m generally not aggressive – I just wish people would not be in my way. I read somewhere once that many people who stick to the left lane out of fear – no exits or entrances, or something like that. I can understand, but that’s why I like the center lane when traffic is moving well – more room to maneuver if something happens. And I hate passing on the right.

And now, I’m at home, typing this, and I hear the sound of mice overhead – winter must really be here. Perhaps I can figure out a way to work that into the story?

And to leave you with some inspiration for the evening:

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.”

Maria Robinson

Please share your thoughts

