My Liebster Award Post

I was pleasantly surprised after work on Tuesday when I started catching up on my blog reading and found that unsimplelife had nominated me for a Liebster Award – I am honored that my fledgling blog has begun to find an audience, and I’m very glad that someone whose blog I enjoy also enjoys mine. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

The rules seem to be pretty simple:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
  3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
  4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.
  5. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
  6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.
  7. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
  8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!).

I managed to work out the hyperlink for #1 at the start of the post.  With luck, by the time you read this, I will have worked out #2. #7 is above (so that I could read the rules while I was writing). All of the rest follow below, but I’m finding #5 challenging – it seems that most of the blogs I follow, that meet the criteria, already have the award. But I don’t see any rule that says they can’t be nominated more than once. And a couple do not want any awards – oh well.

The 11 questions I was given, and their responses:

1. Why did you start blogging?

I needed an outlet for the words jumping around in my head. I love to write and I love to pontificate – not sure why blogging didn’t occur to me sooner. 🙂

2. If you could have dinner with any three people, alive or dead, who would you choose and why?

  • Thomas Jefferson because he was a true ‘Renaissance Man’ who worked tirelessly and seemed capable of doing everything he tried – yet he was decidedly human.
  • Stephen Hawking because he is just amazing and I am awestruck.
  • Richard Feynman because not only was he brilliant, but his sense of humor and sheer joy shines through in all of his writings and I wish I could have attended his physics lectures.

3. If you could travel anywhere tomorrow, where would you go?

I love to travel, and there are so many places I want to visit or return to, but weirdly, what came into my head first was
New Mexico – fell in love with it, want to relocate there when I retire – beautiful state, with probably the friendliest people I’ve encountered in the US.

4. How do you measure success?

Doing something you enjoy well

5. Do you have any regrets in life?

No – on balance, there is nothing I’d do differently. Every choice has led me to where I am, and that’s a good thing

6. If you had one super power, what would it be?

I’d love to be two places at once, but the ability to disappear from one place & reappear in another when I need to would be close to perfect.

7. What cartoon character do you identify with most?

This is unbelievably hard for me because I never really got into cartoons or comics. I can’t say I identify with them, but when my kids were younger, I enjoyed Kim Possible, and the little girl in Spirited Away (if I’m allowed to call anime a ‘cartoon’)

8. What was your favorite pastime as a kid?

Reading

9. What does it mean to be happy?

Being content with myself and where I am in life.

10. What do you wish they taught in school?

Thorny question – I would like basic Civics to be taught at both the high school & college level, because it seems to me that many adults get confused about how government works. And I think that may be because it isn’t reinforced after elementary school.

I’d also like to see Ethics taught at both the high school & college level – as a mandatory course, regardless of academic concentration.

11. What is your ideal day?

One where I have nowhere I need to be, and nothing to do that has a deadline. That allows me the freedom to write, spend time with family and friends, and possibly, just sit and do nothing for a while if it seems right.

11 random thing’s about me? Hmm…

    1. I don’t really ‘think outside the box’ so much as have problems finding the damn thing in the first place
    2. My first love was constitutional law – when I was still in grade school my career path included becoming a Supreme Court justice
    3. I fell into computer programming 35 years ago, and somehow never really got away from the field
    4. I’ve been working on a novel, in my head and on paper, for six years – while writing other things around it. It probably should never be finished. However, when I finish this year’s NaNo story, I will have a potential bestseller on my hands.
    5. I think that the Shenandoah Valley is one of the prettiest places in the US
    6. I hate being called “ma’am” – it has always felt old to me. I am old/not old and do not need reminders
    7. The only sport I pay attention to is auto racing – particularly F1, and someday I’d love to go to France for Le Mans
    8. corollary to #7 – I love cars, and internal combustion engines. My first real Christmas memory was when I was about 5 and my father bought me a small track (with wires to the cars & everything!). Ok – it was a long time ago & pretty primitive – but it was fun when the cars would actually stay on the track & move.
    9. As the byproduct of a very good memory, I frequently surprise myself in conversations by saying something that I didn’t know I knew – learning by osmosis, I guess
    10. I lack the ‘shopping gene’ that women are allegedly afflicted with – my mother loved to go the the store and ‘browse’. Don’t get it.
    11. I’m an introvert, and, in my recent journeys through the blogosphere, I’ve discovered that online social interaction is almost as exhausting as the more traditional kind.

And the honorees are:

Nutsrok

Great storytelling.

when my brain farts

musings on life

A Momma’s View

insightful, well-written, good storytelling

wtf Am I On About Now

very relatable assortment ramblings, photos, and poetry, etc

Phoenix Grey

a fellow NaNoWriMo survivor who blogs fiction

The 11 questions for my honorees to answer, if they choose to participate:

  1. If you could go back to any single point in history, when would you choose and why?
  2. Who is your favorite author?
  3. Why did you start blogging?
  4. What is your top goal for 2015?
  5. How do you define happiness?
  6. Do you have any regrets?
  7. If you could have dinner with any 3 people, living or dead, who would you choose, and why?
  8. What is the number one thing that you would like to see/do before you die?
  9. What was the last movie that you saw in a theater?
  10. What was the most unusual, or amazing, thing that you’ve ever seen?
  11. Do you make New Year’s resolutions? Why or why not?
3 thoughts on “My Liebster Award Post”

  1. Congratulations on your award. Thanks for thinking of me. I had to chuckle a couple of times. First, your Liebster had different rules than mine. (My nominees were 200 or less, and it was nominate 11 people, not a range. Etc.) Secondly, to say that wtf Am I On About Now is a ramble is you doing understatement. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Please share your thoughts

