Tuesday’s Quotes #7

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”

— William Arthur Ward

Most of you have probably figured out that change, and adapting to it, is a recurrent theme for me. Perspective is everything, and I am best able to adapt to life by keeping that in mind.

Big change seems to be on the horizon for my family now that my husband has officially decided to retire, a couple of years early, at the end of the month. There are so many things that come with that decision – his own concerns about not working, acknowledging aging, financial ramifications. My own concerns about his concerns. My own reservations about having him home – when I’m used to having my evenings largely to myself. My own sense of aging as I realize that if he’s retiring, then I will be too in jus a few short years. Many things to think about – but mostly happy things. We are getting ready, somewhat slowly, to  enter the next phase of our lives – when we will be empty nested & living in a completely new, and very different, environment. The next couple of years will be busy as we get our house ready to sell (& then we can wait & wait until it actually sells).

All in all a very exciting time is coming & I’m looking forward to it – and to the possibilities it may offer for my writing.

Please share your thoughts

