Tuesday’s Quotes #13 – who are we really?

“Sometimes you have to step outside of the person you’ve been, and remember the person you were meant to be, the person you wanted to be, the person you are.”

— H.G. Wells

I’ve always enjoyed this particular Wells quote. Perhaps because it seems more hopeful to me that many of his other quotes – if you allow yourself to do it, you can keep track of yourself and not get lost in the day-to-day you.  And of course, I love the philosophical wrangling involved in separating the projected self from the desired self, from the essential self. But which one were you meant be? I only think I know who I am, and mostly I don’t pretend to be much else (although I do bite my tongue a bit sometimes) – but who am I meant to be? Don’t think I’ve figured that out yet. Discovering yourself – since you certainly can’t run away from yourself – is a part of life. Choosing not to try is, I think, a mistake many of us make. We assume that we are what we’ve allowed ourselves to become. But all of us are multi-faceted – living in a any sort of society actually requires that of us. Retaining an innate sense of self – and understanding that self – keeps helps us keep our balance and keeps our humanity intact.

The photo was taken during a trip through Luray Caverns in 2013 – we go every couple of years, when we have time, because it’s really cool & the exchange students enjoy it. 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Quotes #13 – who are we really?”

  1. Beautiful photo. Beautiful writing. I want to comment right away.
    I love the turns and twists of life- the unplanned dips and curves. I think about the future with some excitement- the Great and upcoming Retirement!! What will that mean for me? to me? as time moves on – I look forward to discovery! Just a few more months. Who am I ? I am sure I don’t know that. I still dissappoint myself. I’m not a regular deep thinker- just coasting on the experiences and things I love and enjoy and know to be ‘good’.
    There are some things that are really good- it is a pleasure to know you- to know my brother- and I love this blog of yours!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts

