On Thomas Jefferson’s 272nd birthday – April 13, 2015

“Every day is lost in which we do not learn something useful. Man has no nobler or more valuable possession than time.”

“Our civil rights have no dependence on our religious opinions any more than our opinions in physics or geometry…”

“I cannot live without books: but fewer will suffice where amusement, and not use, is the only future object.”

“I have sworn upon the altar of god, eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man.”

“All, too, will bear in mind this sacred principle, that though the will of the majority is in all cases to prevail, that will to be rightful must be reasonable; that the minority possess their equal rights, which equal law must protect, and to violate would be oppression.”

“The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. It does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.”

“Laws and institutions must go hand in hand with the general progress of the human mind.

“I sincerely believe that banking establishments are more dangerous than standing armies, and that the principle of spending money to be paid by posterity, under the name of funding, is but swindling futurity on a large scale.”

“The care of human life and happiness, and not their destruction, is the first and only object of good government.”

“I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.”

Please share your thoughts

