Tuesday’s Quotes #20 – Anne Frank

“What is done cannot be undone, but one can prevent it happening again.”

— Anne Frank

I particularly like this quote because the idealist in me wants to believe it.

Courtesy of Rowena at beyondtheflow, I discovered that April 14th, 2015 is the 70th anniversary of the death of Anne Frank in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp.

In commemoration, The Anne Frank Trust and Penguin Random House are marking the anniversary with #notsilent campaign – the idea is that people read aloud from Anne Frank: The Diary of A Young Girl, record it, and share in your social networks, YouTube, etc.

Alas, I am far too introverted to record myself doing anything aloud, but I love to write – and the timing of the commemoration and my blog’s quote day left me with no choice but to feature a quote from Anne’s diary.

Growing up in the post-war baby boom, WWII was still too raw a nerve in my youth – I read Diary of a Young Girl when I was young, and just wished that there could have been a different ending. Anne Frank and my mother were born only two months apart, so there always seemed something a bit surreal to me when I was younger. In later years, it became easier to see the diary for what it was – not so different from ramblings that I sporadically made in my own attempts at diaries in my adolescence. Attempts to process the day, a way to vent about things that frustrated me, a place to record my hopes. It is also clear that she was precocious for her age and time – and now I find that I also wonder, as I look at my own daughters, what could have been for her. What have might have been had she been born in a different time, a different place, a different religion.

And so, on this day, take nothing for granted – it all might have been very different for any one of us.

One thought on “Tuesday’s Quotes #20 – Anne Frank”

Please share your thoughts

