What happened to spring??

I took this picture on Saturday to demonstrate that green stuff had replaced the white stuff on the lawn – not bad for mid-April. It was sunny and warm – I remember it well. Today it was cold. And it snowed. And there’s a freeze warning (kind of strange since we aren’t out of frost season yet – but those opportunistic farmers and gardeners will try to plant as soon as the ground thaws a bit).

The good news is that there shouldn’t be any more snow. I hope.

The bad news is that I had a not so great commute today filled with many different occurrences of stopped traffic. Which gave me time to contemplate the snow and sleet that were periodically hitting my windshield. And the wind. Kind of reminiscent of November. So I got home late and have somewhat muddled what I’d initially intended to post. But no matter, I’ll just keep going…

Two noteworthy items today – in a good way. First is that Loretta Lynch was finally confirmed as US Attorney General. This was a long-overdue vote, and demonstrates that it actually is possible for our Senate to function – at least once in a while. The second is that the $45 billion merger of media and communications giants Comcast and Time Warner is dead. Comcast is apparently dropping the plan since it has become apparent that the Federal Communications Commission was not going to make it easy. I’m almost starting to regain my long-lost respect for the FCC.

And back to the weather:

Long stormy spring-time, wet contentious April, winter chilling the lap of very May; but at length the season of summer does come.

–Thomas Carlyle

I hope he’s right – winter seems determined to hang on this year…

Please share your thoughts

