Tuesday’s Quotes #25 – Especially true in our sound-bite world…

“Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.”

— John F. Kennedy

I’ve been increasingly dismayed at how many people espouse extremely strong positions based on something akin to ether. In conversation, it often becomes obvious that those strongly held opinions are at odds with what the speaker really thinks about the topic. Although this phenomena is certainly not new – the desire to follow a path laid by others is innate to us humans because joining together is how we survive – but our world has become more crowded with information, accurate or not, and everyone’s opinions (even mine – isn’t that the point of this blog?), that we frequently do not take the time to think the things that we are hearing through. Ironic that in the information age, many of us seem reluctant to look into a claim before we allow ourselves to react, or before we help to spread it via social media. I’ve even seen things posted by people who I know would never have shared an article had they read it – because the article itself was opposition to the headline. And these are not isolated incidents, not are they limited to individuals of any one political persuasion (or even nationality), or any particular age group. The spanning of generations reinforces my own, anecdotally based, opinion that this is not an educational issue, or a matter of upbringing. I think it is a by-product of having too much available to take in – it is just easier to let someone else tell us what the truth is than to reason it out for ourselves.

So, I’m taking this opportunity, once again, to share the 10 Commandments of Logic:

IMG_0595

JFK photo from insidegov.com

9 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Quotes #25 – Especially true in our sound-bite world…”

  1. I hate the bandwagon mentality. I am all too familiar with the logical fallacies, having studied them extensively for the past two years in school. I really appreciate your spreading the knowledge!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. thank you – I think those occasional reminders about logical debate are helpful to me as much as they may be to anyone else – it’s so important to be able to share our thoughts & opinions without being ridiculed (& even I’ve been known to change my mind – rarely, but it’s happened…)
    Thanks for reading & commenting.

    Like

  3. Excellent. I really enjoyed your thoughts and the added 10 Commandments of Logic. I have never seen them before. As a lover of debate and arguing, I believe firmly in the rules and regulations of creating a safe atmosphere for sharing and exploring ideas. It makes for a good healthy digging into what you really stand for. As pig headed and stubborn as I can be about some things, I have also been known to change my views after some energetic exchange.
    Keep writing Carol- you are brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts

