Technologically challenged

Oh well – in another case of the best laid plans gone awry, I was unable to watch the debates live last night. I was foiled in my attempt to find a way to stream the debates – partly I think because Fox apparently disrupted their own feed & mostly because we recently decided to forgo satellite since we spent more time using Netflix than the TV anyway. It struck me that, as the GOP tries to shed its ‘old white guy’ image, they should really have pressed Fox to stream the damn thing without requiring a cable or satellite subscription. Fox was playing to their demographic, which does skew north of the baby boom. But stranger still was that Facebook co-sponsored the debate.  Someone besides me must have noticed that the cable television model is probably not long for this world. Certainly a tech company?

But no matter, I’ve read the transcript, and I’ll seek out a recording to watch. I may or may not feel inclined to comment this weekend.

But now it is the weekend, I’ve done working, finished my dismal commute (now I remember why I normally telecommute of Fridays…), had a quick dinner – time to vegetate.

Happy Friday (a little bit late)!

“To amuse oneself in order that one may exert oneself, as Anacharsis puts it, seems right; for amusement is a sort of relaxation, and we need relaxation because we cannot work continuously.”
— Aristotle

Please share your thoughts

