The Blogger Recognition Award Post

Well, I got a surprise last week when I was nominated for The Blogger Recognition Award by Robert Goldstein at Art by Rob Goldstein.

I sincerely appreciate the award nomination – my blog is still 3 weeks shy of its first birthday, and recognition is always nice – as is the opportunity to pay the award nomination forward to other bloggers.

So, thank you again, Rob, for the nomination.

Blogger Recognition Award Rules:

  1. Select 15 other blogs to which you want to give the award. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  2. Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. Make sure to attach the award! (You can do this by right clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  3. Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

My list of nominees follows at the end of the post, and borrowing an idea from Rob’s own acceptance post, I also decided that I would seek out different blogs to nominate this time, and not just those at I read, and interact with, most often  (many of which do not accept awards, anyway). I liked the idea of pushing myself to broaden my horizons a bit, but time constraints made the decision a bit more daunting – so I’ve provided a bit of a mix here – some newly discovered blogs, and some that I frequent most often.

The story of my blog is a simple one, I think, although it took me a long time to finally start it. I love to write, I have many opinions about many things, and I love hearing what others think. I’m also an introvert, so blogging makes it possible to share, interact with others, and still withdraw when I need to without anyone thinking I’m anti-social. I finally got up the courage to start the blog on September 1st of last year. I wasn’t sure what direction I wanted to take, and in some respects it’s still a bit murky, but I’ve found a rhythm that I can work with in a combination of non-fiction options – opinion/commentary, quote sharing, and steam of consciousness. I also discovered a wonderful way to push myself bit earlier this year, and to become a part of a larger community, through the monthly 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion blog posts.

I never expected a particularly large following, and I’m surprised that I’ve found any readership beyond my family. But I, like any of us, would be lying if I said that I didn’t want to be read. Blogging on a public platform implies that you are hoping that your voice will be heard, and that your words will resonate with someone. I’m very grateful for the 144 followers that have found me, and especially for those who interact with me on a fairly regular basis.

I obviously haven’t got a magic formula for successful blogging, but the best advice I can give to new bloggers is to get involved. Reading other blogs, commenting on them, sharing when it seems right, and responding to comments all help us to continue to hone out own skills, and yes, to build an audience. I ‘met’ several other bloggers early on through the Blogging 101 & Blogging 102 classes that WordPress runs. The courses themselves helped me to focus bit, and to realize the importance of a regular schedule. Suggestions that I received from other attendees led to my regular Tuesday’s Quotes, and my semi-regular Sunday ‘commentary on the news’ posts. Most importantly, reading other blogs, commenting on them, sharing when it seems right, and responding to comments all help us to continue to hone out own skills, and yes, to build an audience.

The blogs that I’ve chosen to nominate, like others that I follow, are a diverse group. There are those where I love the writing style, although perhaps not always the views expressed, some that appeal to me on a personal level – shared experiences, similar views, similar backgrounds – some that are inspirational, creative, or otherwise resonated with me in a way that I felt should be recognized. The notifications will likely lag behind, but they will be done shortly. As always, my nominees are under no obligation to accept or acknowledge the nomination – I realize that many do not accept awards. In nominating them, my hope is that new readers will discover them. And so, in no particular order, my nominees are:

Far Beyond the Stars

Words We Women Write

mermaidcamp

beyondtheflow

La Audacia de Aquiles

Lady in Transition

Uncommon Graces

Susan’s Personal Blog

See, there’s this thing called biology

Nutsrok

TanGental

this nerd’s life

Kit Dunsmore’s Blog

Her Headache

Eclectic Alli

10 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award Post”

Please share your thoughts

