On the other hand…

Ok, so I may have assumed (always dangerous) that I would be back to normal today, but since I’ve never been good at normal, well…

We spent all day yesterday hanging around the car dealer – wasn’t quite what we’d planned, but we did succeed in trading in 2 of our cars – spouse’s & absent daughter’s, and replaced it with much nicer & newer car. But that was after test driving several different cars, including taking one to lunch, and trying to decide which to get (alas, not the one other daughter wanted us to get – in fact, the one that was emphatically not wanted). It was painful, but it’s done now, and all in all we got a very nice deal on a very nice car. Truth be told, I also wanted the same one my daughter did, which was smaller, but we’ll file that away until I’m ready to replace my car in a couple of years. Now we are insuring one less car, and one less driver – and that’s a good thing.

But the end result of all of that time spent on very little yesterday, was that today was spent on all of the errands left undone, leaving me with a late start today, and since I am not much of a planner, I’m at a loss for a topic that I have anything semi-intelligent to talk about.

Unless I want to complain about Donald Trump, and what his continued dominance of the Republican primary race is saying about us as a nation, and the GOP in particular, in which case, I could go on all day (& probably into tomorrow, as well). Or if I were really inclined to discuss the blatant hypocrisy of Josh Duggar (but really, what’s the point? I said what I had to on the moelstation revelations, and the Ashley Madison revelations were no real surprise, and are just sad and pathetic) or Jared Fogle (who, like many before him, negatively capitalized on his 15 minutes – or 7 years – of fame because he could, which is also sad and pathetic – and gee, I wonder why he & Josh Duggar are running together in my head?).

But, and admittedly this is a bit of a cop-out, I’m not inclined, so I won’t – I actually had some legal news, and a few peculiar comments made by newsworthy people that I’d wanted to write about, but I failed to adequately prepare, so, for today at least, they are out (but will likely be back later in the week in one way or another).

If you haven’t seen it yet, I do urge you to take a look at this brilliant piece that John Oliver did last weekend on televangelists and the inane concept of the prosperity gospel and ‘seeding’. The good news is that his starting of the Church of the Perpetual Exemption – and getting it legally registered with the IRS, will likely force someone in Washington to take a look at the absurdity of this highly predatory behavior.

And, on that note, I leave you with this thought, from Thomas Jefferson, on the perversion of Christianity, to ponder:

“The truth is that the greatest enemies to the doctrines of Jesus are those calling themselves the expositors of them, who have perverted them for the structure of a system of fancy absolutely incomprehensible, and without any foundation in his genuine words. And the day will come when the mystical generation of Jesus, by the supreme being as his father in the womb of a virgin will be classed with the fable of the generation of Minerva in the brain of Jupiter. But we may hope that the dawn of reason and freedom of thought in these United States will do away all this artificial scaffolding, and restore to us the primitive and genuine doctrines of this the most venerated reformer of human errors.”

Please share your thoughts

