Back to normal?

Well, with NaNowriMo behind me for another 6 months or so (camp time!), I can get back to semi-normalcy. As far as this year’s performance goes: I rate it a win even though I failed to get to 50k words. For the first time in all of the Novembers that I’ve tried it, I actually completed a story. The problem is that it was 30,123 words long. So I am patting myself on the back for finishing, even if I missed the word count by quite a bit.

But, with a return to normalcy, comes a return to the world’s news. I have to start out by wishing my friends and co-workers in Chennai all of the best as they contend with massive flooding, and all of the power outages, transportation failures, food and water shortages. I’ve not been there since 1985 (when we still called it Madras), and it’s been hard for me to visualize all of the infrastructure changes that have occurred in the last couple of decades as the city became a major technology center, and now, as with the tsunami in 2004 and Kathmandu’s earthquake in May, it’s painfully difficult for me to imagine the devastation that is occurring now. For those of us in the US, I think that the closest parallel we can draw is to New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina – only worse because this is an ongoing situation due to more rain, and yet another cyclone bearing down.  It will be a long time, I fear, before life will return to any real semblance of normalcy for those that live and work in the hardest hit areas.

And yes, there’s terrorism, domestic and foreign, here in the US over the past week. And a worse-than-useless Congress, plus a disturbing assortment of presidential hopefuls & their equally disturbing supporters. But that can wait until Sunday, when I’ve had a day to recover from work.

Now it’s Friday evening & I just want to not think for a couple of hours.

Enjoy the weekend!

“We will be more successful in all our endeavors if we can let go of the habit of running all the time, and take little pauses to relax and re-center ourselves. And we’ll also have a lot more joy in living.”

— Thich Nhat Hanh

 

Please share your thoughts

