The wandering mind…

The general state of disconnect has stayed with me the past few days – oh, well… But that does mean that I’m going to stay low-key a bit longer – I’ve already irritated a few people on social media today, so my week is pretty complete.

“Love does not consist of gazing at each other, but in looking together in the same direction.”

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

 

Yesterday was my in-laws’ 73rd wedding anniversary. Yes, I really did mean to say that they’ve been married for 73 years. It is a mind-boggling number. Their son & I have been together for 34 years, married for 24 – we married late so those big, overwhelming anniversary numbers are highly unlikely for us – to me it’s amazing that September 2016 will be our 25th anniversary. Surely a huge number in and of itself. But 73 years is almost too much to comprehend. They are both in their 90’s, living on their own, still mostly mentally sharp. But the human body has limits, and my mother-in-law is physically frail, so time is increasingly precious now. As a result, as the winter weather looks like it is actually becoming winter here in the northeastern US, my husband will head south to spend a couple of weeks with his parents. Since our daughter is still in school, I’m in the midst of blood pressure medication adjustments, and am awaiting my court date for a traffic violation, I’ll stay home this time. We don’t spend a great deal of time apart, so it always feels a bit disorienting when we do. But, then again, my daughter and I are already looking forward to the opportunity for two whole weeks of eating all the salad and vegetarian chili we want – it harkens back to the days before my husband’s retirement. And should be fun. And I’ll have more guilt-free writing time. So disorienting, yes, and a bit lonely, but okay, nonetheless.

“We are not the same persons this year as last; nor are those we love. It is a happy chance if we, changing, continue to love a changed person.”

W. Somerset Maugham

 

2 thoughts on “The wandering mind…”

Please share your thoughts

