Wandering minds again…

“The mind can go in a thousand directions, but on this beautiful path, I walk in peace. With each step, the wind blows. With each step, a flower blooms.”
― Thich Nhat Hanh

Totally unfocused today, so apologies for the drifting…

Yesterday was one of those strange commuting days. In the morning, a Chevy driver in a hurry forced me to use my horn because he started to move into my lane while I was still in it. This disruption to whatever train of thought I had while I was listening to whatever music was coming out of my speakers, led me to spend several minutes – after thinking unkind thoughts – that perhaps I’m not giving the other driver enough credit. I don’t know why he was driving faster than my 80 and weaving in and out of traffic. My first thought was that he was just an run of the mill asshole who may or may not have been running late for work & not paying attention. But then I realized that, although he certainly was not paying attention, and he was certainly driving much too fast for the already too fast heavy traffic he was in, he may have had reasons beyond basic lack of sleep or possible substance abuse. It occurred to me that he could have been rushing to see a hospitalized relative. Or maybe he had a critical job – one that doesn’t come with flashing lights – that he was late for. Emergency surgery, maybe? I’m being a bit facetious because I was irritated – at having my own mindless commute interrupted- but as with many other things we encounter other people doing or saying during the day – we simply do not know what is on their minds. There was no accident. No one was hurt. So the best thing to do, the sanest – and most sanity-preserving – thing to do, is to just let it go. Weirdly I even hoped that he was just a run of the mill asshole, and not confronting some tragedy. And then I mostly forgot about it.

And then, on the way home, a funny thing happened. Well, funny if you are a car lover who is old enough to know what a DeLorean is. I found my self pulling up behind one at a traffic light near my office. I haven’t seen one – outside of Back to the Future memes – in at least 25 years. Have to confess that I didn’t even think about them. The car was interesting looking in 1981 – gull wing doors and brushed steel body – but, unlike some other sports cars of the era, it looks quite unattractive now. And the stainless didn’t age well. And the car was actually very slow, and low-powered, for a high-priced sports car. And it wasn’t especially reliable. Which brings me back to the car in front of me. I was the third car in line, and while I was waiting I was just thinking “wow – one of those things is still on the road?”. And the light changed. And car number one moved forward. And the DeLorean moved forward. About 3 inches. And then he stalled. Now, I could blame the driver for poor shifting skills, but given the DeLorean’s history, I gave him the benefit of the doubt & blamed the car. Fortunately he didn’ take that long to restart and get through the intersection.

And then I got home from work and found our that former Speaker of the House, John Boehner, had actually called Ted Cruz “Lucifer, in the flesh”. I’m not even sure where you go after that. But the Daily Show had a great time.

But for now – I have homework to finish and school this weekend, so I leave you to make sense of this silliness on your own.

Enjoy!

Image courtesy of http://www.nj.com – fortunately not of my actual commute

One thought on “Wandering minds again…”

  1. Having spent life making mistakes or saying the wrong thing, I do believe we need to give everyone the “benefit of the doubt.” As for politicians…… do we as people call for a massive objection to the silly name calling- or will Karma take care of it?

    Like

Please share your thoughts

