Changing latitudes

“Oh, yesterday’s over my shoulder
So I can’t look back for too long
There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me
And I know that I just can’t go wrong”

— Jimmy Buffett, “Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes”

As I write this, I’m sitting in the hotel in Albuquerque following a couple of very long days in the car. Tomorrow it’s on to Arizona & later next week we’ll head back to New Mexico for a week in Los Alamos. It is universally hot & humid everywhere this year – we didn’t even get a break in southern Illinois on the way in. And it looks like Arizona will be more humid than we’re used to also – but still better than home, I guess.

And the southwest is still burning, so we might have a couple of challenges getting into Arizona tomorrow by our usual routes. Oh well, nothing insurmountable  – and vacations should be adventures, anyway. The journey is more important than the destination.

Besides the usual vacation-y things, I have quite a bit of homework – all of it due the weekend we get home, much blog reading & sharing to catch-up on, and this blog to work on (no, I didn’t schedule any posts ahead of my vacation- I’m winging it this year). And with the Brexit vote going the way it did, and a couple of recent interesting US Supreme Court decisions, this coming Sunday’s will almost certainly be highly opinionated (just some advance warning). So it’s a good thing we planned several days at both stops this year. 🙂

Photo of sunset taken June 22, Greenville, Illinois

Please share your thoughts

