Starting another week…

Another Sunday is upon me, and I hardly know where to start. There has been much news this week, much (perhaps too much) politics, and a party convention just getting started in Philadelphia (to counterbalance the one last week in Cleveland) – but it was also a school weekend, so my time has been limited, and my focus elsewhere.

Although I will absolutely have more to say on the subject at a future date, there have also been a few things on social media that I found troublesome over the past couple of weeks, and that lead me to, once again, offer up the “10 Commandments of Logic“, and the equally important “Know Your Fallacies“.

 

And, in a related vein, I’m repeating, again, this quote from Leo Tolstoy:

“Freethinkers are those who are willing to use their minds without prejudice and without fearing to understand things that clash with their own customs, privileges, or beliefs. This state of mind is not common, but it is essential for right thinking”

As well as this, from Benjamin Franklin:

“For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise.”

 

Images of clouds taken from my front yard at dusk on July 21, 2016 with my iPhone – no filters.

Please share your thoughts

