WTF – Seriously? What the F***

Okay – anyone who knows me even a little knows that this was coming. Perhaps it’s surprising it took me this long. But to be honest, I previously made a plea for voters to seek other options. And I asked the Trump supporters in my life to help me understand why they were supporting him. And some of you did, but the most compelling reason seemed to be that Hillary Clinton was somehow worse. One thing I learned over the years is that the anti-Clinton folks are intractable in their belief that Hillary is a homicidal demon bent on destroying the very fabric of society.  Yeah, well, okay. Fine. I am well aware that those of you in that category are not going to yield in that regard. But to try to continue to convince yourselves that Donald Trump is somehow a better choice – when there are 3rd party options, just leaves me wondering whether you have every actually familiarized yourself with the man and his past. (Yes, I know past performance is no guarantee of future results, but come on guys).

Once again, before I go on, I need to disclose a few things about myself since they surely make me biased on this particular subject. First, I’m a functioning, rational, human being with a strong moral compass. To compound that, I’m female. A post-feminist, past middle age, boomer female. With two daughters. And, in spite of my widely varied, and unrelated,  career choices and hobbies, I majored in psychology. And a few decades ago I volunteered as a crisis intervention counselor for rape victims. Which not only makes me biased, but actually somewhat qualified to offer up an opinion. Just in case my qualifications as a human being aren’t sufficient for any of you.

For anyone that has somehow NOT heard, The Washington Post obtained, and released, some incredibly damning audio on the Republican presidential candidate saying some truly offensive things about women and his behavior towards them. To add insult to injury, the recording dates to just a few months after his marriage to his current (3rd) wife 11 years ago (I expect the divorce proceeding to start after the campaign is over). This, coming on the heels of a campaign that continued his decades long tendency to objectify and make offensive comments about women (especially those that somehow offended him), and his nasty habit of insulting anyone that disagrees with him, should have been little surprise, really, to anyone that has paid attention. Unlike the myths and mysteries swirling around the Clintons, nearly everything about Trump has been well documented. The man is a veritable publicity machine. Narcissism comes to mind. He lives for the attention. And it somehow doesn’t bite him in the ass nearly as much as it should. But this revelation really cannot be ignored. And it is so damning that it should not be forgivable.

And, to their credit, many Republicans have been fairly quick to condemn his remarks. Oddly, not all of them are dropping their support of his candidacy, but I do understand that party politics has put them between the proverbial rock and hard place. Not surprisingly his most ardent supporters, like Sean Hannity, have been quick to point fingers are Bill Clinton and his abysmal past behavior toward women. Trump himself issued a non-apology (essentially “yeah, I’m a dick. Sorry if it offends you”), and has quite vehemently insisted that he will not be dropping out. Unless he does quit, the GOP is stuck with him. And they should be. They built the foundations on which that horrible excuse for human being built his campaign. They own it. They should deal with the fallout.

But first, about those Bill Clinton comparisons. Sorry, folks, they are, at this juncture, completely irrelevant. Bill Clinton is not currently running for office, his wife is. And if you family value folks would like to screech a bit about her keeping her family together in spite of  his behavior, well I’ve had two different friends over the years with straying spouses tell me that they did not get married to get divorced. Ok, your choice. Probably would not have  been mine, but I certainly cannot fault the choice to stay together and try to keep moving forward. So Hillary made her choices regarding her marriage for better or worse. And I have to question the motivation of men with multiple marriages, and marriage-ending affairs, who have the audacity to challenge the wife of a philanderer for staying.Why are they even still being listened to?

And then there’s Donald’s non-apology and the ‘just locker room talk’ defenders. Locker room talk? For 13 year old boys, maybe, but seriously? This was sexual assault talk, and I’d like to think that isn’t what most males, even adolescent ones, talk like when they are alone with other guys in the locker room. My opinion of men just isn’t that low. And that brings me around to the content of that recording. It exemplifies what people mean when they talk about ‘rape culture’ – and excusing it, justifying it, trivializes a serious issue. Rape is not about sex. Rape is a crime of violence. Power, not lust, is the driver. Trump, in that recording, laid that out with stark clarity. “When you’re a star, they let you do it”. Kissing, grabbing genitals, all okay because I’m me & therefore why would you object. It’s the ultimate in entitled bad boy behavior. But this was not a kid speaking, this was a 59 year old man. You can’t pretend it was a youthful indiscretion and that he’s changed. News flash, by 59 your character is pretty well developed you don’t ‘grow up’ much by 70. He was already on his third marriage when the recording was made. The man has told you who he is. Perhaps you should listen and not imagine that he will somehow become someone else if he gets elected.

So please – if you are still supporting Trump, understand that I can no longer even pretend to accept, respect or understand your choice. I’ve never let political or religious views interfere with friendships, and I hope that I can manage that this time around, but I honestly am finding it hard to respect anyone that is still supporting Trump. Vote for Johnson, take Kelly Ayotte’s approach and write in Pence, or bite the bullet and vote for Clinton, but please do not vote for Trump. And if you feel compelled to, please stop trying to pretend that that there’s anything morally right about your choice. There isn’t.

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “WTF – Seriously? What the F***”

  1. thanks, Sandra. I am astonished how many people are still backing Trump. And for the ones that I know, it’s still under the unshakable belief that that Hillary Clinton is somehow the epitome of evil bent on destroying the world. I just do not understand how some people can actually look listen to Trump & think he’d be a better president.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I so love you for this post. I want to give you a hug right now! So very well said!!! It blows my mind how he can still have supporters. It is actually shocking. It also blows my mind why people use Bill Clinton to make a point. As you said: It’s not him who is running for Presidency, it’s his wife. It does not matter. And by the way: He was a good President. Yes, he made a huge mistake but he paid for it. Trump would never come close to Bill Clinton. And I sincerely hope that he will never come close to move into the White House. He is way too close already…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The problem is that there is no evidence that Hillary killed anyone. There have been 30 years on largely unfounded & downright false allegations. I’m not defending Clinton & I have issues with the way she handled the email server & her lack of transparency, but I think that by words and actions, the Donald Trump I have seen over the past 30 years is far more dangerous to the country & is simply a horrible person. If Clinton wins, the establishment prevails and its 4 more years of the same crap. Trump is a loose cannon who admires dictatorial world leaders for their strength. His narcissism and lack of filters make him dangerous – and we may not be able to survive 4 years of him without paying a heavy price. Yes, the system needs changes & yes, we need leadership change. But Trump is not the right person to lead that change.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m not even sure if dropping out would be the best thing right now – it would be the ethical thing, but from an election perspective, his remaining in the race makes the saner candidates more viable. And to be honest, his party does not have a mechanism to force him out at this point.
    The debate tonight should be very entertaining…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is amazing, from across the pond, that he can continue. How on earth can any political party accept that? Run with that. The press, to a headline across the whole spectrum would destroy him and his party here if he didn’t drop away. But politics are a very local. I’m guessing the vast majority over here feel like you – there are always dinosaurs and throwbacks in every place. We will watch this with the fascination of slow moving traffic passing a car wreck.

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts

