Wandering minds, wandering cars

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”
— L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

I took a break from everything this weekend and, interspersed with a few errands & a bit of teenager shuttling, my husband and I took advantage of the wonderful October weather to go for rides into the local mountains yesterday and today. With the top down on my car. It was incredibly relaxing.

I’ve probably said before that, residing as I do in the northeastern US, October is easily my favorite month. And it is. Cooler, but still generally moderate weather, clear blue skies and a wonderful array of foliage colors. Who wants to worry about homework, work work, sitting at the computer to to pay bills, write, or even social network when the weather is perfect for outdoor rambles (or lazy in-the-car rambles)? Of course this is all just self-justification for why I have nothing profound to say in today’s post – I needed a break from politics, from work, from school.

So instead of anything insightful and profound, I leave you with some of the pictures that we took yesterday during our wandering in High Falls and, because I was too busy driving and scenery watching to take any pictures today, I’m also reposting some pictures I took the same time last year in the same part of the Catskills that we were driving in today.

“Autumn is a seconds spring when every leaf is a flower.”                                                       — Albert Camus

2 thoughts on “Wandering minds, wandering cars”

Please share your thoughts

