Wandering mind…

Officially on vacation & pretty much mentally checked out as well. I’ve already started turning my mind to this month’s upcoming #1000Speak post, and am trying to avoid those things that will make me decidedly less compassionate sounding.

In the meantime, we had a very good drive south this year and have begun our week of family visits – always a good time (and another reason to to avoid those pesky negative distractions). Since my father-in-law is in his mid-90’s – and none of the rest of us are getting any younger – we are mindful of how little time we really have left to enjoy each other’s copmpany. Although my husband has made the trek, this is my first trip down since my mother-in-law’s memorial last year, and I have to admit that it’s still a bit disorienting.

But then, life itself can frequently be disorienting as we move from change to change. Especially as we age, when the changes often involve loss and sometimes seem to pile up at an alarming rate. Which somehow brings me around to resilience (a subject I’ve been thinking about often recently), and I recalled this brilliant thought from Elizabeth Edwards:

“Resilience is accepting your new reality, even if it’s less good than the one you had before. You can fight it, you can do nothing but scream about what you’ve lost, or you can accept that and try to put together something that’s good.”

 

 

Please share your thoughts

