Tuesday’s Quotes August 28, 2018 – Shining Lights

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”  — Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

We all have an inner strength, and beauty. Let your inner light shine through.

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross (1926 – 2004) was a psychiatrist, born and educated in Switzerland, who moved to the US in 1958. In 1965, she began working at the University of Chicago’s Pritzker School of Medicine. While there, she began working extensively with terminally ill patients, and that work led to her groundbreaking 1969 book, “On Death and Dying“, in which she first laid out the 5 Stages of Grief. She posited that people commonly experienced most of these stages when confronted by a terminal diagnosis – denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance. This process is now widely accepted to also be experienced by those coping with loss.

She was opposed to euthanasia, and was a strong believer in the hospice movement as a means to help ease a natural transition from life to death. Unfortunately, a series of strokes left her wheelchair bound for much of the last 10 years of her life, and somewhat ironically, she stated a few years before her death that she would rather have been able to determine the timing of her own death.

Originally posted October 6, 2015.

Image from AccuWeather


3 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Quotes August 28, 2018 – Shining Lights”

  1. It’s a difficult topic – I know beyond a doubt that 2 of the friends that I lost to cancer last year were emphatically not ready, willing or resigned to dying – but cancer doesn’t respect that.
    I think people should have the choice, though, when they are terminal – certainly there is often too much emphasis on valiant life-saving even when that only prolongs a painful end.
    As far as the difference between assisted-dying & euthanasia? It is more than semantics – in euthanasia, the doctor (or family) actively ends the patient’s life – administering drugs, turning off life support equipment. In assisted- dying, the doctor provides the mean, but the action is the patient’s – it’s a conscious choice.
    I think the decision can’t really be made until it needs to. Certainly Bill & I have living will & health care proxies, but even a DNR wouldn’t come into play as a first response when we’re otherwise healthy. All we can do is understand our options now, so that we know them when it matters. And even then, it won’t be easy.


  2. That book, read so long ago, On Death and Dying, marked an important change in my thought processes.
    As some of us are approaching 70, my friends and I have a discussion going about our deaths and what we think about free choice on euthinasia, (Those that write the articles maintain that euthinasia is different from assisted dying, but I don’t know how.)
    My friend’s husband and close friend of mine, never wanted to die. Even as he lay in bed, unable to self care, in pain…. he never lost his sence of self, of humour, his importance to friends and family. He was quite an inspiration.
    Our discussion is on going and personally, I am not confident that I know what I really think- having changed my stance so often.
    However, thank the Lord, none of us are at a point where we have to take ourselves too seriously.


Please share your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s